Anamaria Nankusu – Provincial
Lucy Toror – Provincial Council Member
Nakato Betty – Provincial Council Member
Noellin Namusis – Provincial Council Member
Ribinibella Musina Provincial Council Member
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow


The Society of the Sacred Heart

The Society of the Sacred Heart is an International congregation founded in France in 1800, by Saint Madeleine Sophie Barat. Our Mother House is in Rome, with more than 2,500 members from 41 countries around the world responding to the call; to discover and manifest the love of Christ.

The Society of the Sacred Heart of Jesus began in Uganda at the invitation of Archbishop Joseph Kiwanuka of Kampala Diocese. A group of five sisters from Ireland and one from New Zealand arrived in Uganda in January 1962 and took over Nkozi TTC from the White Sisters.

From Nkozi the Society moved to Masaka Diocese at Christ the King, in Kalisizo in 1964. In 197 sister opened a house at Gaba in Kampala and moved to Moroto Diocese the same year. In 1973 they moved to Kalungu G.T.C. and Eldoret Diocese, to Nairobi Diocese in 1997 and lastly to Lugazi Diocese in1998.
Today, we have seven communities in Uganda at: Mbuya is our Provincial house, Ggaba Hopitality house, Mbiko in Lugazi Diocese is the Noviciate house and an elderly house. In Masaka Diocese we are in Kalungu and Kyamusansala and in Moroto Diocese we are in Naoi and Kangole . In Kenya, we have houses in Eldoret, Checkalin and Ngumo and Karen in Nairobi Diocese.

  • The members of the Provincial Council
      Noellina Namusisi      Provincial Council Member;      Lives in Karamoja,        Works at Kangole Girls Secondary School as – Headteacher Anamaria Nankusu Provincial Superior;Lives in Mbuya Provincial House Lucy Toror Provincial Council Member; Lives … Read more

RCSJ in Uganda

Society Logo


Our Charism